A distant wake on the water signaled the appearance of the beaver pond’s creator..

This sign at the parking lot for the Beaver Pond Trail is a familiar sight. So far, I’ve seen the dam, and the beaver’s handiwork on various trees. The beaver himself has been elusive.

 

 

The trail flows through a tunnel of green that disguises more than it reveals.

 

 

The wildflowers that enjoyed early spring sunshine have been replaced by shade-lovers. Phlox in shades of purple and white lights up the dark recesses. Multiflora rose cleverly climbs shrubs and small trees in search of better light.

 

 

Sometimes, the rose display is spectacular.

 

 

Birds are hard to spot amongst the foliage, An Eastern Kingbird makes itself conspicuous. A Canada Goose allows me to get close as it searches for something to eat. The silhouette of a crow reminds me that it’s getting late and the park will soon close.

 

 

I return to my car and drive down the road that loops past the pond,  I pass a clump of Blue Flags flourish in a damp spot under the trees

 

 

It is around 7:35 pm when I stop to look out across the pond and spot a  thin, white wake in the distance.  At the front of the wake is something brown but too low in the water for a duck.  As it comes closer, I realize that I’m looking at a  furry animal swimming with his nose barely above the surface of the water. It’s the beaver himself!

 

As the beaver disappears into the forest of pond lilies,  I must disappear to leave the park by sunset, the official closing time.

 

 

 

